New email address (and public records thoughts)

We recently did away with trustees using our personal email addresses for library work. So, from now on, please email me at my new Timberland account: eoconnell (at) trlib (dot) org.

For me, the reasoning for requesting a email account based on a Timberland server was my own privacy. As we’ve seen in the Shoreline case, what is a public record is blurred when records become digital.

When I started as a trustee, I started using a different computer, separate blog, twitter and facebook account than for my personal or work use. I do this so I can be certain that nothing not Timberland related can ever be considered a public record. On the flip side, I can be sure that everything Timberland related can be properly archived and easily found.

Leave a comment

Filed under General stuff, legal

Leave a Reply

